The Western New York Section of the American Chemical Society

The Jacob F. Schoellkopf Medal

The Schoellkopf Medal is the oldest ACS local section award in the nation, and was named in honor of chemical industry entrepreneur Jacob F. Schoellkopf, founder of National Aniline Works and, in part, is a testimony of achievement in chemical technology on the Niagara Frontier. 

The first Jacob F. Schoellkopf Medal was awarded in 1931. For 87 consecutive years the Western New York Section of the American Chemical Society has recognized the work of its peers with a citation of their accomplishments and their continuing achievements in the sciences.

  Diana S. Aga

2017 Schoellkopf Medalist

The Jury for the Schoellkopf Award of the Western New York Section of ACS selected Dr. Diana S. Aga, Professor of Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry, University at Buffalo, as the 2017 Schoellkopf Award recipient

  …in recognition of her pioneering contributions to understanding the effect, fate, transport, and treatment of emerging contaminants in our environment, her wide-ranging student mentoring efforts, and her service to the profession.


The 2017 Schoellkopf Medal was awarded to Diana S. Aga on Tuesday, Sept. 26. 
Please see the Nomination Instructions for more information.  Schoellkopf Medal Nominations are being sought until May 1, 2018

For past Schoellkopf recipients, see the Schoellkopf History Page.


Outstanding High School Science Teacher of the Year

The Outstanding High School Science Teacher of the Year Award is presented annually by the Western New York section of the American Chemical Society to a science teacher after soliciting nominations from 95 area high schools.

 The 2016-2017 OSTY is Dr. Sarah C. English of Sweet Home High School

The Western New York ACS section recognized Dr. English, along with outstanding High School and College students, at the 2017 Education Night Award Banquet on Thursday, April 20, 2017.



Upcoming Events

Saturday, Apr 28 at 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

National Meeting Countdown